Congratulations on your upcoming wedding!
Marriage license laws vary from state to state and the fees assessed differ for each county. BE SURE TO CHECK WITH YOUR COUNTY CLERK’S OFFICE FOR THE FULL REQUIREMENTS FOR YOUR AREA.
For the state of Texas, you’ll typically need to apply for your license about 30 days before your ceremony. You must present a valid form of identification such as a driver’s license, state ID, passport, or certified copy of birth certificate and social security number when applying for your marriage license. However, you do not want to apply for your license too early since they are only valid for 30 days.
OTHER REQUIREMENTS INCLUDE:
AGE: The minimum age for marriage in Texas with parental consent is 16. Judicial approval is required for anyone under the age of 16. Individuals 16 or 17 must have either judicial approval or parental consent. Proper identification is required by consenting parent.
IF PREVIOUSLY MARRIED: If either applicant is divorced less than 31 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree waiving the 31 day waiting period is required.
WAITING PERIOD: There is a 72 hour waiting period to be married. In some counties this may be waived by active military status, a district judge, or a Twogetherintexas certificate. For more information visit www.twogetherintexas.com.
PAYMENT: Cash may be required for payment for the license. Many county clerks do not accept checks, especially out-of-state checks.
LOCAL COUNTY CLERK OFFICES
WACO McLennan County 501 Washington Ave Waco TX 254-757-5057
KILLEEN Bell County 301 Priest Dr Killeen TX 254-634-0768
TEMPLE Bell County 205 East Central Temple TX 254-770-6806
BELTON Bell County 1201 Huey Rd Belton TX 254-933-5156
SOURCE: www.co.mclennan.tx.us/cclerk/marriage_reqs.aspx www.bellcountytx.com/county_government/county_clerk/marriage_licenses.php